March 2016 Creativity Challenge

by Laura M.

Well friends, here we are at the start of a brand new month. It will soon be Spring…a new season. A new beginning. How about a new beginning for you? What do you think about unleashing some hidden creativity? I have a challenge I truly believe all of you can accept and will have fun with.

Here’s the deal: everyday for a span of a few days [ahem, several days. The bf recently clarified that a ‘few’ is 2-3 and anything above that is ‘several.’ But I digress…] take a photo of something based on whatever theme you choose. Objects that start with the letter A, red things, a different bird everyday…whatever tickles your fancy.

After you’ve got a collection of photos, make a collage out of them. You can use the Walgreen’s app to put one together and print your masterpiece or assemble the photos on a site like www.picmonkey.com.

I’ve done this exercise (for lack of a better word) before and I find it stimulating. It makes me think, makes me more aware of my surroundings and, quite, frankly, is just plain fun.

For this post, I decided to take a photograph of the doors and windows of my world. And here they are:

doorsandwindowscollage

It was stimulating because I started to think of what these objects evoke, metaphorically speaking. The doors that lead into and out of my world, the windows through which I see the world. Who else, besides me, goes through these doors and how am I connected to them? The fragment of the earth that I see through these windows – so infinitesimal in the grand scheme of things. But as small as the scope is, it’s my world. And it’s nice to have a recording of what my world looks like at this point in my life. The doors and windows of my life in 2018 will no doubt be different. There will likely be both additions and subtractions. I’m content with what I have right now but also excited to see the changes that will surely come with time.

I remember the first time I took this photo challenge I set about to take a photo of something beautiful everyday. And isn’t that a glorious thing? Because by setting that intention of photographing something beautiful, you must seek something beautiful. And seeking out the beauty in your surroundings is tantamount to practicing gratitude. I highly recommend it.

And talk about fun! Seriously: get on Picmonkey and explore all the options! They have borders, shading, you can add text, effects…all kinds of neat stuff. I mean, look at this!

doorsandwindows3

And the best part: Picmonkey is totally free and doesn’t require a login.

So go have some fun with this and then send your collages to us at untapthat@gmail.com. We’d love to see what you come up with and hear what you think of the challenge!

[Update]

Our loyal reader Charlotte S. had a great point: How do I remember to do this?

Well, Charlotte, so glad you asked because I bet a lot of other readers had the same question. Here are some suggestions:

  • set a daily reminder on your phone
  • put a post-it note on your fridge
  • write it on your calendar (if you’re old-fashioned like me and still carry a paper one)

My favorite suggestion was prompted by reader Patty A. She said “Laura – please help me remember!” And I thought, “Why not use the buddy system? ” So I texted Patty an emoji of a camera.  When she receives it, that’s her reminder to take the photo. Another option, If you want to pair up with a pal, is you could text your pal the photo that you just took. Maybe the two of you can build a collage together. The possibilities are endless!

And I figured since I was making this update that I’d go ahead and add another pass at a collage. Enjoy!

PicMonkey Collage4

One thought on “March 2016 Creativity Challenge

Leave a Reply

